20
Mar
17

Getting to Knooow Me, Getting to Know More or Less Aboooout Me…

****

I’m taking the baton/hint from The Indecisive Eejit.  You may find her answers HERE.

If you truly follow my blog and don’t just add me to the card collection collecting dust in your digital box of favorite things to grab your attention for a second, you may know some of this, already.  Either way, this is one of many TV-type interview moments with yours truly.  No question is answered with a lie.  But, some answers are omitted for the given reason(s).

1. Who are you named after?

An uncle who was rumored to be an alcoholic, if you can believe it.  [In part, because of this info being passed to me at a young age, I told myself I’d avoid alcohol.  More on this, later.]  My family has the lousy habit of reusing names in abundance.  We definitely are not the sort to name kids Apple or North.

 
2. Do you like your handwriting?

I did when I was still in school and teachers would compliment my handwriting.  But, once I entered the working world and began suffering new anxieties on top of the old ones, my handwriting went the way it started way back in my early years, when I would scratch out letters to complete homework. I used to joke and enjoy jokes about people who “chicken scratch.”  But, as with other things I joke about, I seem to later be given a slap to the face.  [So, now I am more careful what jokes I enjoy.]  I still pride myself for not–or wonder why I cannot–signing my name in a way some people do which looks more like a squiggle than any actual letters.

 
3. What is your favorite lunch meat?

It varies with time, as do other answers to this sort of question.  Presently, I’d say roasted or smoked chicken with some accent of seasoning like dried tomatoes or barbecue sauce.  A few years ago, it was honey ham.

 
4. Longest relationship?

Depending upon how you define a “relationship,” I could answer this a number of ways.  I have not had any ideal or romantic relationships that would qualify–in my mind–for THAT sort.  But, I’ve been close with a female friend for about 9 years and was semi-romantic with one gal for about 3 years though our time together was rather limited.  [Long-distance relationships suck.]

 
5. Do you still have your tonsils?

Yep.

 
6. Would you bungee jump?

Nope.  I’d rather skydive, to be honest.

 
7. Do you untie your shoes when you take them off?

Usually, no, unless they are taller hiking boots.  And, even then, I have a trick for getting them off without undoing a knot.  I have become quite the casual traveler and like to slip in and out of situations, including my clothes.  So, any way I can make dressing/undressing quicker, I usually find and stick with one, at least, until the thought process changes (as it occasionally does).

 
8. Favorite ice cream?

Just about anything with chocolate flavoring.  Chocolate, Heavenly Hash, Fudge Brownie, Chocolate Chip Mint…all good options.  And, which I go with often depends upon what I’ve eaten recently.  If I have had a heavy meal, the lighter choice (plain Chocolate) is best.  If I had a snack and am out and about, a heavier flavor with stuff in it usually tides me over nicely until I can get something more substantial to eat.  But, I can’t eat ice cream without some form of other food in my stomach.  No dessert before substance/staple.

 
9. What is the first thing you notice about people?

It’s hard to say specifically as my socially-anxious mind tends to rapid-fire thoughts and/or glances at a variety of details in a short amount of time without fully grasping the details.  [Meaning, I may glance at a nose but not register the shape in my mind, simply because my mind wants to register but is also hesitant to stare.]  But, I usually say hair as I favor people with a healthy head of hair (even if mine is not so).

 
10. Football or baseball?

Play or watch?  I watch both, occasionally.  I favor watching American football but am not the sort of fan to quote names and/or stats.  I wish attending football games was more affordable and easier.  I have attended one football game and several baseball games, so far.  And, I cannot deny the electricity one gets when seated in a baseball stadium, preferably in a section that is not too crowded (as the noise can be deafening/painful).  You never known when that free baseball might fly your way.  It’s a safer way to gamble and still feel alive.  Best if you have a buddy to share a soft pretzel or some cheesy nachos.  [I would not go to a game alone unless I was meeting someone there.]

 
11. What color pants are you wearing?

Gray.

 
12. Last thing you ate?

Cereal.

 
13. If you were a crayon what color would you be?

Probably a shade close to forest green or a dark gray.  I feel close to the forest and tend to be a gray person, one who doesn’t answer or do much of anything in a definite way.  I have convictions but am malleable.  I can bend like some trees.  But, if the wrong sort of forces try to bend me, I can be come rigid and volatile.

 
14. Favorite smell?

Fun fact.  I can’t remember the last thing I smelled.  I seem to have a case of “anosmia.”

 
15. Who was the last person you spoke to on the phone?

Hmm.  I am struggling to remember.  But, I’d say one of my sisters.

 
16. Hair color?

That’s confidential.  But, if you use some brain cells, you might figure it out.

 
17. Eye color?

See 16.

 
18. Favorite foods to eat?

Favorite hot food/entree?  Pizza, hands down, because it is not limited to one form.  It can be made any number of ways with a variety of toppings.  I have written a number of pieces on this matter elsewhere, if you can even find them.  Spaghetti with tomato sauce (and maybe a few meatballs) is a good first date/comfort food.  But, I also favor a good cheeseburger, the occasional fried calamari, eggplant marinara and gyros.  Favorite fruit?  I’m partial to red apples that are moderately sweet and firm/crisp, mangoes and bananas (particularly when combined with peanut butter in a sandwich).  Asian pear/apples are occasionally good, too.  Favorite cold sandwich?  It’s been a mix of tuna with mustard, mayo and pickle bits for some time.

 
19. Scary movies or happy endings?

Happy endings.  I can stomach some scary movies but only do so to either please someone or to satisfy a(n) curiosity/interest in something.  [IE I saw the first two Resident Evil movies in hopes of getting a live-action retelling of the video games.  That was not exactly what I saw, though.]  A few years back, I watched an anime in which the female lead cried when she won a fight.  For some reason, since that day, I’ve been shuddering and shedding tears when something well depicted or written crosses my path.  Blending all of this into my work, I like to craft stories that inject little bits of fear and humor before resulting in a happy ending that inspires people to heave a sigh of relief and smile.  I also am not fond of endings/goodbyes; so I tend to leave The End a bit uncertain.

 
20. Last movie you watched?

I just saw Logan the other day.  It did a nice job of explaining how science had doomed Wolverine to an inevitable death, even though he had an innate healing ability that extended his life.  It was also very violent and gory, and the use of vulgar language was excessive and questionable (though typical of some social circles).  I was expecting a little surprise at the end but was disappointed.  Even though the movie stars a little Latino girl, I would not recommend bringing kids to the film (which I think is rated R, anyway).  And, I worry about the kids in the movie growing up a little messed up in the head.  But, that’s showbiz.  Right?

 
21. Favorite holiday?

I’d have to pick Valentine’s Day even if many grumble about it being one of those “commercial” holidays…and even though I have yet to have the romantic or sexual sort some people enjoy.  I like the symbolism and like generating images of love/passion/affection.  I don’t subscribe to the requirements of gifts or any particular treatment of anyone.  I do things my own way.  I’d pick Halloween if people didn’t use it to play scary monsters and worse things.  I like Halloween without the blood and frights.  I’d love more classy costume parties (without the stereotypical snooty, wealthy attendance of movie/TV fame) and am intrigued by the concept of Carnival as it is known in some historical European stories.  I like the sounds, lights and general warm feelings of Christmas but could do without the rush and demand for presents as some seem to entertain.  Holiday shopping is insane and unnecessary.  But, the SPIRIT of many holidays is something that stokes the fire of contentment in this life, just as the Olympics are intended, in a way, to bring nations together in harmony (when they aren’t pitching some product or flashing a corporate logo/sponsor).

 
22. Beer or wine?

If I had to choose, I’d go with wine.  But, I am not a big alcoholic drinker.

 
23. Night owl or early bird?

I consider myself an early bird by nature (including astrological).  I typically like to get up early and get going in a hurry (rather than preen and fuss).  I do NOT like to lounge in bed unless I am having a rare lazy day.  I could not spend all day in my pajamas, even if I was filling my day with fun and games.  Nor can I spend a day solely indoors unless I am doing something creative that just can’t be put down.  But, I’ve been known to stay up late and do some crazy things…  [Who needs alcohol when inhibitions take a sharp dip after midnight?]

 
24. Favorite day of the week?

I dunno how to exactly answer this one.  I don’t have a particular day I favor above all others.  If I could, I’d give a reason for each.  I have no reason to presently favor any day from Monday to Thursday, though I occasionally did, depending upon the job I had (because some jobs bring certain rewards on those days).  Friday is typically a good day because, for some, it’s the end of the work/school week, preceding what should be a rejuvenating weekend.  Saturday used to be a favorite for its bounty of morning cartoons.  [Now, any day is a cartoon day, provided you have the right “service package.”]  Sunday has become a day to catch my breath before another work week; it used to be a definite church day, before work and other matters got in the way.  Now, it’s more of a uniquely meditative, spiritual day occasionally pestered by a bout with anxiety.

———

Phew.  And, as usual, when I complete one of these things, I am inspired to craft a list of my own questions for people to answer.  [Even if not enough people care to answer them.]  So, be on the lookout for that.  And, if you care to continue this or that list of questions with your own answers, it might be a good idea to link your post to this or the first one.

4 Responses to “Getting to Knooow Me, Getting to Know More or Less Aboooout Me…”


  1. March 20, 2017 at 5:26 pm

    Good answers, for someone who was cautious of sharing you were very detailed 🙂
    I wear cartoon lounge pants round the house all day lol Work clothes are for work, others are for leisure.

    • March 20, 2017 at 7:57 pm

      I usually am very detailed unless I feel good reason to hide/defend.

      I could use some cartoon lounge pants. But, I rarely feel comfortable lounging around the house, especially when family is around. And, even when they are not, I feel guilty for not doing something more important; I feel lazy, sometimes, in lounge wear.

      • March 20, 2017 at 8:33 pm

        Lol I do my cleaning in it!

      • March 20, 2017 at 8:49 pm

        I clean in everyday sweat pants. But, usually, I’ll wear the ones in the worst condition so I don’t feel the added need to throw those in yet another load of laundry right away. I would not clean in what I consider lounge or bedtime pants. I try to keep my bed a bit of a sanctuary from the rest of the world/house.


Leave a Reply

Archives