24
Jan
17

Why Can’t I Add a Featured Image?

****

Okay, one more glitch here?  Now, I can’t add a Featured Image on my post?  What’s going on?  It’s not like I’m at my space limit.  Did some fine print change recently?

16 Responses to “Why Can’t I Add a Featured Image?”


  1. January 24, 2017 at 4:54 pm

    I had a similar problem a few weeks ago. While the picture would show on the draft, once published it could not be seen in the reader. I learned that it has to be a certain size in order to show – anything smaller than 400×200 wouldn’t show. To ensure that mine do, I make them all a minimum size of 500×280. Seems a bit large, but it works.

      • January 25, 2017 at 10:23 pm

        They talk about retired themes. If this is the case, if the format or whatever of a theme affects function, there should be some mail passed along that says any user of [list of no longer functional themes] should choose a new one from [new list] or suggest a replacement theme in the form letter. I swear, these sites keep trying to change how things work for whatever reason, either boredom or concern for security, and let the pieces fall where they may. It’s sort of like setting up a neighborhood, waiting sixty years and then trying to replace all of the plumbing without giving the residents a sound place to go temporarily.

      • January 26, 2017 at 9:21 pm

        Great analogy! They make way too many changes. I’m a firm believer in “if it’s not broken, don’t fix it.”

      • January 27, 2017 at 8:51 pm

        Right? But, that is quickly becoming such an extinct philosophy, one I fear will be featured in a museum somewhere someday when people in those silver jumpsuits we thought would never happen look back and say, “Oh, how quaint.” If you can’t buy a new version in under two years, what you have is outdated and lame. As if…said the cast of Clueless, you know that….oh, why bother if you were born after Y2K. 😛 hehe

      • January 25, 2017 at 10:36 pm

        Now, the Featured Image thingy is working. I am chalking up recent problems to that darn Mercury retrograde…which should be over by today.

      • January 26, 2017 at 9:22 pm

        That’s great to hear! Glad it’s working for you now. Hopefully, no more problems will arise.

      • January 27, 2017 at 8:52 pm

        As if. As we just said, the site–and others like it–keep making changes for whatever reason; someone ends up getting a glitch one way or another.

    • January 25, 2017 at 10:17 pm

      This isn’t even a case of size or format. I faced all of that back when I first started uploading pictures. Back then, I was easily able to see all the details, adjust where the image was placed, remove no longer wanted images from the storage space, etc. Now, it has been reduced to simply uploading, inserting in some sort of cramped arrangement (or separate large images that don’t always fit the page for some reason) and maybe adding a caption. I see no way to remove images from the storage space. And, as for the featured image, I dunno what caused the problem, yet.

      • January 26, 2017 at 9:18 pm

        I definitely liked the old image tools better. Now in order to resize pictures I have to enlarge or minimize the image by dragging it after it is placed in the content. Not awful, but not preferred. As far as removing images, I still can. Click on the image you want to remove from within the image folder and on the bottom it will give you the option to delete it.

      • January 27, 2017 at 9:07 pm

        Well, whatdya know. I never noticed the edit/delete option(s) on the left; I just saw the insert/cancel on the right. Some of the options don’t seem sensibly visible/placed.

    • January 25, 2017 at 10:19 pm

      I’m also concerned about my Contact Me page. I think people have tried contacting me, but the mail doesn’t get through. [Otherwise, why would people go to the contact page and not send anything?…unless they didn’t trust the site-to-site mail system.]


Leave a Reply

Archives


