08
Dec
16

My Response to Most Letters Written to Advice Columnists

****

If you read any advice columns in newspapers, you might notice a trend in letters from desperate souls seeking advice at the risk of being either ignored or exposed to the public.  [Or, am I wrong, and every person who writes to these advisors gets a personalized response?]  Just about anyone could give as simple advice as these letters appear to require.  It boils down to a handful of words.

TALK TO (THE PERSON).

or

SAY WHAT YOU ARE FEELING.

It seems like a waste of time and a column to post a letter about someone who is merely hesitating to speak to someone.

“Hmm.  How will I word my response this time?” says the advisor.

Really?  If there ever was a situation to use a form letter,* this is one.  You could just cut and paste those few words from a previous column.  Heck.  Just include the advice at the bottom of the column where you talk about yourself as a professional.

*You know those letters heads and representatives of big organizations (schools, banks, credit card companies, workplaces, etc.) use to address a large number of people with only the name of the recipient changed.

Enough said.

3 Responses to “My Response to Most Letters Written to Advice Columnists”


  1. December 8, 2016 at 5:05 pm

    What I find most amusing about those columns is that the ‘expert’ is rarely an expert in the topics they’re discussing. Most comical and sad of all was a marriage columnist I saw who has been divorced 3 times. Expert on how to have a good marriage? Umm, don’t think so. What’s worse is that people actually go to her for advice.

    • December 8, 2016 at 7:09 pm

      Hey, stranger. Where have you been?

      Not every columnist is a psychologist. And, the one I know who is…he sometimes gets long-winded–as even I can–with philosophical meanderings. I occasionally wrinkle my brow and wonder why he doesn’t get to the point or why his point doesn’t sound quite right. [Not that “my way” is always right, but I like to think the universe/gut has a way of explaining things poetically. And, when it’s not poetic to the eyes/ears, it may need to be re-worded.]

      Hey, it may seem strange for a thrice divorced person to advise on marriage, but–glass half full–maybe others see that as having ample experience. 😛 hehe

      Who we seek for advice is more often guided by a gut feeling than a resume. Our material world focuses on pieces of paper: insurance plans, degrees of education, licenses, etc. But, it’s our hearts/gut instincts that are the real measure or detector of greater value. I learned this when reputations started to fail me, when what is advertised did not hold up in my presence. My experience went a bit beyond being deceived by the toy in a cereal box.

      I have never been married, but I can speak about marriage from opinion and observations of other married folks. I’ve grown up with and met many couples, more unhappy than committed for life. I have looked at the relationship from many angles, including astrological. I don’t have a PhD in psychology. But, I have an inherent bend toward the trade.

    • December 8, 2016 at 7:12 pm

      And, on the note of marriage, I wrote a response to a recent column you might check out.


Leave a Reply

Archives


