27
Sep
16

What a Waste

*****

It hit me yesterday as another lame presidential debate unfolded and, of all people, Donald Trump hits me over the head with the V8 bottle.  All the money wasted on slandering ads.  But, the buck doesn’t stop there.  The whole election system seems a waste of time, money and work hours.  Presently, it’s about a woman who is never going to be forgotten for being absent-minded with her use of computers and a business blowhard who is as fearless as he is foolish when it comes to public relations.  And, in the middle of the arena is a heap of currency from gamblers.  Above their heads is the “fate of Americana” if that’s not just tabloid hype.

Pull the string a little harder, and you find ties to American rights fought so hard for by the armed forces.  I have heard some people question why anyone would not vote for the next president when “our troops fight so hard for these freedoms.”

Is going to war really worth the mockery of an election process?  Is that really a favorable freedom, voting for people who are pressured into mud-slinging nonsense to rile a divided country into taking up sides built on playground behavior rampant in elementary schools?

I am reminded–for whatever reason–of someone I know who worked with a “charitable organization” and came home with some rather expensive “swag” which was spread among staff as a tax write-of–er, gratitude for services.  My family didn’t need the “swag.”  Someone else surely could make better use of the items.  Why do people who don’t need these items get them?  And, what do I anticipate most people who get this “swag” to do with it?  Well, odds are, they’ll either put it up for auction (say on eBay) or offer it to someone else with a good chance that someone else will not use it, either.  Maybe I am being pessimistic.  But, it smells more and more like the likely outcome, at least, from where I live, from my point of view.  Knowing my luck with stepping outside this point of view, I’ll go to another state or country and find much more sensible, generous and productive use of such “swag.”  And, I am sure, in some places, worse use.

In short, I guess I am just nauseous from how much time, money and resources are exhausted each day on crap that amounts to nothing.  And, in the back of my head, I hear the Foo Fighters singing that song about “reaching the prize at the end of the road” and all that “nothing” that comes before seeing one’s own “ghost.”  As I said to myself last night, I fear one day, in the distant future, some other race will look back upon humankind and sum it all up as a waste of space and resources, a species that constantly tried to assert itself as right in self-centered ways until extinction.

I’m clinging to a shred of hope that won’t be the case.

Maybe guys like Kaepernick have the right idea about not partaking in the national anthem.  But, if so, what does that say about the nation who boasts being #1.  And, what’s it going to take to remedy the situation?  Certainly, not a “bank bailout.”  Certainly, not another ridiculous election of a figurehead with two opposing teams of underlying “factory workers.”  Certainly, not a nation of people giving up on trying.  [But, I’m leaning toward falling into that last group, myself.  Which isn’t good.]  Certainly not more APP businesses that are a flash in the pan predecessor of a scary  world already seen in movies mankind made.  Certainly not more minimum wage jobs and guns in hands of desperate and foolish people.

I don’t have any grand answer.  But, I’d love to establish a decent think tank.

0 Responses to “What a Waste”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


