07
Sep
16

My *Questionable* Pleasure (TV Show)

*****

Occasionally, I hear people on TV talk about their “guilty pleasures.”  I don’t like the word “guilty.”  Nor do I know what sort of guilt I should feel for watching a particular “reality TV” show which is both creative and humiliating, innovative and exploitative…  It’s a dirty trick on the mind.  It teases you with colorful images and fun games while abusing the participants who we are drugged to believe are willing players in a simple game.  [But, it’s not a simple game.  We are just duped like an audience at a Roman coliseum to root for either the lions or the gladiators.]

I am talking about CBS’ Big Brother.  I watch the show for a few reasons.  I tell myself it’s because I enjoy some of the competitions they invent, including the props.  I like looking at the interior decorating.  It definitely is a fun house design.  And then, there is the “beauty contest.”

Just about every year since its conception, I get roped into watching most of it.  Every time, I go through the same motions.  There is usually one pretty face I favor and root for throughout (unless she turns out to be a psycho bitch).  And, there are way too many annoying examples of southern-state, post-college-age delinquents who whine and whisper excessively in a desperate plotting way that just grinds the gears.  [I could easily skip over ninety percent of each show just to get to the good stuff which mainly consists of what are called “competitions” or “comps.”]

Last year, my heart went out to this crazy blonde gal.

bigbro17_heart-meg-1

There were two other contenders who lacked height but had their “perks.”  Shelli was the perfect blend of beauty and brains and had a good chance of winning.  Jackie…was just Jackie; plenty of assets, but my gut told me (as it usually does) not to fall too quickly for someone so “flashy.”

And, that verges into what I consider the shallow, exploitative side of the show which surely dives into some contractual pool any sane soul would not likely want to share with the media sharks.  [But, we the viewers don’t really see any of that; do we?  We just get the scandalous pictures.]

Anyway…

This year, these two exceptionally GORGEOUS young women stopped my heart.  Both suffered the same fate and are very close in age.  Both didn’t display exceptional brains or strength but sure have plenty of beauty.

bb18_heart-bridgette-dunning_850x700-1

A “traveling nurse.”  [Someone explain that job to me, please.]  Her radiant smile and lively hair just wash away any doubts you may have about her.

bb18_heart-zekiyah-everette_591x691-1

A “preschool teacher.”  Her eyes and lips are both comforting pillows and boxing gloves.  Her long, luxurious hair (hopefully all-natural) is the towel that fans you after losing a fight.

Both masters of expression appear like graceful pixies from some enchanted garden who dance over flowerbeds.  Neither is the easiest to catch, but their sweet voices call to you like the ocean.

My heart aches from confusion.  Part of me wants to jump through the TV screen and save the beaut–join the game.  Every year, I leave (watching) the show disappointed.  I should hate such exploitation.  An activist mind like Bridgette’s (a “feminist”) should probably not find interest in the whole mess, either.  But, she auditioned for it.  And, I am utterly smitten with her.  [I was smitten with Julie Chen, the US host, from year one!]

juliechen-bigbrother-cbs_greetaudience-animated-2

All I can do is let it wash out of my system like the tide taking part of the beach away every summer.

 

And, in case you are thinking I should get or have permission to use these images, I’ll just let Bridgette explain.

bb18_bridgette_dunning_cozyhat-goaheadshesays-animated-4

“Go ahead,” says Bridgette.

[She is just absolutely lovable.]

Well, there you have it.

 

0 Responses to “My *Questionable* Pleasure (TV Show)”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives