15
Jun
16

When Something Strange Happened in MY Neighborhood…

*****

I don’t think calling any troop of Ghostbusters has any value, yet.  But, something rather strange did appear on my way to work today.

I saw two blackbirds–possibly small crows–cawing and pecking at what looked like a dark puddle alongside the road I was walking.  Suddenly, more blackbirds emerged from this “puddle.”  There must have been about six of them.  Thinking of someone who recently mentioned a blackbird song or chant one is supposed to recite for some reason I already forget, I thought maybe this was some sort of warning.

As I grew closer, one of the birds seemed bothered by my presence.  And, as it cawed at me–as if saying, “Quick.  Let’s get out of here.  That guy over there is watching.”–I muttered, “Yea, I saw something.” or “Yea, I see you guys.”  I can’t even remember what I said, now.  But, that seemed to have an impact on the birds.  One took flight and followed me a short distance down the adjoining road.  I know it was following me because it kept moving to the next power line or lamppost and cawing.  It only stopped following when I raised my head and stopped talking to myself (inside my head).  When I crossed the next street, I could hear the birds gathering behind me but no longer pursuing me.

All in all, it was rather eerie.

What do you think of this?

3 Responses to “When Something Strange Happened in MY Neighborhood…”


  1. August 3, 2016 at 10:03 pm

    I think the world’s full of possibilities, some beyond logic and reason, some beyond human knowledge


Leave a Reply

Archives