07
Jun
16

Do I Still Like to Collect Feathers?

*****

Every autumn since maybe 2010, I’ve encountered wild turkeys passing though my neighborhood.  And, if I am lucky, they leave a feather or two where I can find it/them.  I also have hawks that fly overhead and very rarely leave a souvenir.

I have yet to find a good project for them, but I like collecting feathers (just as I like collecting leaves, acorns and seashells).

But, recently, I found a trail of gray feathers on the driveway.  Initially, I thought, “What luck.  An array of feathers.”  Then, I found the rest…of the bird that lost those feathers.  The hawks I’ve been watching so earnestly have been picking off chickadees and sparrows to feed their young.  And, the remains just happen to land on my path.

I know it’s the circle of life and all that.  But, I don’t need to see ants eating half of a sparrow’s head and feathers with bits of blood and whatnot on them.  It kinda takes the joy out of finding feathers and makes me think of the Greek god Apollo who used different feathers to make different arrows.  I imagine these scattered remains of dead birds would be used for arrows of death.  Just a thought.  [Bleh!]

3 Responses to “Do I Still Like to Collect Feathers?”


  1. June 8, 2016 at 11:37 am

    Wouldn’t be something to choose what to see and what not to see… Actually, a lot of people live like that. Maybe they are wired differently 🙂

    • June 8, 2016 at 9:01 pm

      What are you saying? Who is wired differently? Who are those wired differently different from?

      • June 9, 2016 at 12:44 pm

        I was referring to those people who seem able to ignore reality in a sort of autistic manner and see only what suits them. They are wired differently from those who feel more deeply and keep questioning the world, the society and their lives/themselves. I know persons of both kinds.


Leave a Reply

Archives