09
May
16

Weird Stuff Goin’ On Here

*****

*Poof*  So, where was I?  Oh yeah.  Not like a good neighbor, I was down in my dungeon the other day with an empty plate sitting next to me on my bed.  I was trying to make some progress with my latest writing project when something made my butt shift.  The sound of the plate shattering on the hard floor at my feet stuck with me for a long while.  It was both harmonious and haunting.  I quickly thought of people breaking plates at a wedding.  What was that for, again?  Scaring off evil spirits?  Am I supposed to shout something like “Oh-pah!”?  Instead, I kept typing and thinking until I finally got up, got dressed and swept up the mess.

That was rare.  I can’t remember how long it’s been since I broke a plate or glass.

Then, just last night, I was sitting in my dungeon, again, trying to milk my tired brain, fill another page.  I decided to call it a night.  There was another empty plate on my bed.  I picked it up, intending to deliver it to the kitchen.  Some strange feeling came over me like a ghost holding my hand.  My fingers shook.  I blanked out for a second.  The plate slipped from my hand and shattered on the floor.  “Again?!” I groaned.  I couldn’t believe it.  Two plates in one weekend.

Is there some superstition attached to this?  Is the number of plates significant?  Does anyone know?  Should I just look it up online?

On top of this weirdness, I’ve been struggling with a bout of spring allergies and what seems to be some sort of head cold affecting different parts of the body, but primarily my nose and throat.  I am fighting a tickle cough and noticing my “alien arm” looking a tad more crooked/curved and painful to stretch.  Yet, I also have more strength and a desire to stretch it.

Weird.

4 Responses to “Weird Stuff Goin’ On Here”


  1. May 23, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    Wow…I have no explanation, but it would scare the s*#t out of me if plates kept breaking and I felt a ghost.


Leave a Reply

Archives


