05
Nov
15

Writingbolt down!…again!

*****

Who knows how to check the condition of and stabilize/immobilize a big toe?

I reaaaaally don’t want to see a doctor this week…or in the near future.  I was just getting used to my robotic arm.

Short story even shorter, I was chasing a nephew who was misbehaving outdoors, and I stumbled down a driveway like Humpty Dumpty or Jack sans Jill.  I didn’t break my crown.  But, my one big toe hurts on the side that touches the other toe when it moves.  It flexes okay…not perfectly.  Of course, it could be in shock.  I don’t detect any broken bones.  Just pain.  No swelling.  No blood or bruising.

On top of that, I skinned both knees reaaaal good, tore holes in my pants and gave my nephew a nice scrape on his forehead.  And, then I get the endless guilt trip from family.  Yea, that’s helping me stick with this babysitting job.  Don’t worry about my condition; I’ll just walk it off til I am doing cartwheels.

So….great day so far.  Yep.

*******

Update:  Toes are in homemade pine coffins.  Thursday evening, I found a nice one-inch purple bruise beneath the nail of the big toe.  It looked like a strip of tape.  I will put up with my toes stinking and bathe the hospital safety way for at least a few days.

Knees are stiff from scabbing and complex bandages…but functioning.

And, WHY are random strangers LIKE-ing and FOLLOW-ing this post but saying nothing?  Two days later, and not a single bit of advice other than not waiting too long to see a doctor.  Nice.  Take plenty of pictures, they will last as long as everything else posted on “the cloud.”  [Speaking of photos, I did take some of my nasty feet.  But, I will not be sharing them.]

******

Update 11-13-2015:  Right knee seems fine aside from small healing patch about the size of a quarter, a bit raw from occasionally resting on knee while babysitting.  Left knee appears to be sticking to the bandage, again. I trust the scab and bandage will both loosen up together…or I’ll have to do some tear and repair work on that one (eek).

I took the “coffin” off the big toe.  I am not sure if my left foot always was, but it seems a quarter inch wider than the right one.  There is a thin line of red/blue bruising below the big toe nail and a “blobbish” blue/purple bruise along the right side of the toe about 1 1/2 inches long and 1/8 inch wide.  Flexing seems improved.  The only pain I experience is when I twist or bend the toe to one side.  [Could there still be a hairline fracture or nerve soreness/damage?]

So, it’s only been one week.  I am putting the “coffin” back on and resuming restricted movement during the days I am out and about/working.

9 Responses to “Writingbolt down!…again!”


  1. November 6, 2015 at 8:00 pm

    Get better soon! If it doesn’t stop hurting maybe you should consider seeing a doc .. just in case ..

    • November 8, 2015 at 6:30 am

      Thanks. I know. And, I hope it doesn’t come to that. I made the mistake of waiting with my arm injury. I dunno if it’s a family thing, but I am praying everything recovers without a need to go in for the works. I can honestly say it doesn’t feel worse after two days…but… [With my arm, it got progressively more painful.]

  2. November 7, 2015 at 4:28 am

    This is not funny at all but you crack me up! I’m laughing and sympathizing at the same time. Feeling any better? How’s that toe Humpty Dumpty?

    • November 8, 2015 at 6:35 am

      How do I make you laugh with this?…other than the random funny bits that come out of my brain when I am not happy for whatever reason. I think it’s my random rotating defense mechanism. A sort of Robin Williams glitch.

      I am not feeling worse. But, that’s because my toes are in pine boxes and my knees are bandaged up the whazoo. The scabbing is giving me a case of old man knee. But, I take that as a sign of healing. I know people are telling me to put salve on. But, I don’t trust chemicals.

      Oh, yea, I did mention Humpty Dumpty, didn’t I?

      • November 8, 2015 at 1:53 pm

        I’m so sorry. It really is unfortunate and I agree about the salves. You will heal quicker if your knees have time to be exposed to air. Keeping the bandaged up will prolong healing time but you don’t have to take my word for it. What do I know? I’m just a nurse 😉

      • November 9, 2015 at 2:49 pm

        On that note, I am being very conscious of how the bandages sit. My knees are already at about 60 percent (better). The bandages are a mess. The toe is still a lil tender which worries me…but I am keeping the faith.

        Oh, you’re a nurse, are you? Raises an eyebrow. Hmm-hmm…. 🙂

      • November 9, 2015 at 5:38 pm

        Um…. Yeah….surprise. I have the sick tendency to want to save everyone. Surprised?

      • November 9, 2015 at 6:29 pm

        No, I suppose not surprised. Now, I will just imagine you in costume, saving the day…. 🙂


Leave a Reply

Archives


