20
May
15

A Word of Advice to Those Suffering Blogger Block

If you start a blog and tell yourself you will post something every day, this is for you.

Every day you fail to post something, put a dollar in a jar.Β  You’ll be accomplishing more with that money saved and put in a retirement account than you’ll likely ever achieve with your blog. πŸ˜›Β  I’m just being honest.Β  I’m…I’m…just being honest.Β  Too many of you are so eager to shout your hearts out to the heavens.Β  But, this isn’t the venue for you.Β  And, laying guilt on yourselves for falling short on a promise to this venue is foolish.


17 Responses to “A Word of Advice to Those Suffering Blogger Block”


  1. May 21, 2015 at 6:40 am

    I only wanted to post once a week and I missed it this week.

    • May 26, 2015 at 7:13 pm

      Put a dollar in the jar. πŸ˜› Once a week seems far easier than every day like so many want to do for whatever reason. As if they were getting paid to do this. No, instead the site gets something out of our labor.

  2. June 10, 2015 at 12:40 am

    Kewl, you must have read my mind. Haha! Blogger’s block! cool name for it πŸ™‚

    • June 10, 2015 at 12:47 am

      Not that I thought of the dollar a day thing. Good idea. haha

      • June 15, 2015 at 9:51 pm

        That’s a pretty common punishment, though some settle for just putting change/coins in a jar for their transgressions.

        Yes, Blogger Block or Blog Block. It didn’t require much thought to think of that name:P

        Oh, how I would like to sit with you and read your mind. πŸ™‚

  3. July 2, 2015 at 8:03 pm

    There are different reasons for posting daily. For some it is an exercise, at the end of the journey, you have usually benifited in some unfortold way .. Better practice, greater fluency, and on and on. In fact, many who experience a creative block end up with a breakthrough at the end of it. Even support groups advocate for such extreeme exersize once in a while.

    • July 7, 2015 at 7:20 pm

      Ha. I don’t think the most “practiced” bloggers have improved by posting daily. I think it is more likely a cause of burn-out and subsequent melancholy when they feel they’ve failed if they don’t post daily.

      If practice made bloggers better writers, maybe I’d change my tune. But, as far as I know, only my writing has changed (not sure it has improved) over the years.

  4. September 14, 2015 at 4:45 pm

    That’s a great but who will quiet these voices in my head?

    • September 14, 2015 at 4:47 pm

      A stimulating chat partner, a yoga buddy or Mother Nature, maybe, with a good walk.

      • September 14, 2015 at 4:53 pm

        You have no idea how many voices there are. My husband was crying yesterday he was laughing so hard. He told me I think out loud and that he can’t even get a thought in his head because I never shut up. I told him I talk to myself because he never answers me. He says I don’t give him enough time to answer because he is thinking of his response but I am already onto my next question so I tell him not to bother to answer. So I tried to listen more and talk less and honestly I wished I had some duct tape. I couldn’t do it 😦

      • September 14, 2015 at 4:59 pm

        Actually, I do. I have had as many as ten voices in my head. Sort of like a quorum of angry men…and women. But, before anyone thinks it’s “skitzophrenia,” I don’t change with the voices. It’s more like I am a nebula, and the voices are the vibrations of stars in my system. They are born from congestion of thinking from other souls I meet.

        Oh….that’s not good. The chatterbox and the silent one. Bad juju. And then she said it. She talks to herself. I could start a therapy tab for you on that line alone. It runs in my family.

        You are the spry sprite while he is the slow ox. You buzz around him like those flies the oxen swat. He appreciates your company, but, sometimes, you are too fast for him. And, telling him not to bother trying? Ouch. That’s gotta hurt his pride.

        Might I suggest an exercise in patient listening. Your challenge is to enter a conversation or moment with him without opening your mouth until–as they say–you are asked for your opinion/input. Take a deep breath before approaching him and invite him to lead the discussion. If he has any qualms about you interrupting, tell him you are giving him a fair chance. And, if you violate your offer, he has a right to do something unpleasant to/without you.

      • September 14, 2015 at 5:06 pm

        Lol! You crack me up. I do not want to be compared to a fly. No one is more annoyed by flies than I am. I away at them quietly calling them profanities while completely losing me cool.

        My husband manages a company. He has to give long motivational talks and he thinks if he pauses for very long periods of tie in between words, people will lean in closer and pay more attention. What they are really thinking is…will this guy ever get to the point, our lunch begins in two hours πŸ™‚

      • September 14, 2015 at 5:12 pm

        I bet I could make your pains go away with laughter, then. πŸ˜€

        But, you are! You are sounding just like a gadfly. And, he sounds like the grumpy but honest ox that is slow and steady. All of your Taurus assets go out the window if you are a chattering pest to him. You must have a flighty air sign in your active/social chart area somewhere.

        Sometimes we are what annoys us, right?

        I get scared by buzzing insects because I am always fearing they will infect/bite me. But, if not for that, I would not feel a need to do anything to them. They are just tiny airplanes. Although, when wasps start making nests in the corners of your home, it’s time to relocate (them).

        I should have known, you and your hubby are TV evangelists. πŸ˜› He’s the guy I’ve been reading (his books) about changing his daily thinking and giving up Oreos, isn’t he?

        You are mean! Don’t you realize he does what he does for effect? Like yoga, it’s about pacing, drawing out thought/motion to clear/focus the mind. He figures the pauses will give people time to process. Whereas you are more like me when I am impatient and hungry. Eat quick and get on with the tasks we are piling up in our restless heads.

      • September 14, 2015 at 5:19 pm

        Actually he is a closet water and his cookie of choice is chocolate chip. I get irritated waiting for the idea to get soft in my milk so usually I bite into it too soon before it’s really ready.

        He is not grumpy. He is very even tempered and patient which is even more aggravating since I am passionate and emotional πŸ™‚

        I am NOT like a fly!

      • September 14, 2015 at 5:25 pm

        A closet water? What does that mean?

        I could really go for some freshly baked chocolate chip cookies right now…

        I like passionate and, sometimes, emotional. πŸ™‚ It indicates a tumultuous water sign like Scorpio. Too much emotion, though, suffocates my dominant fire and wind signs.

        You are like a fly at your worst. Let’s put it that way. At your best, maybe you are Tinkerbell. πŸ™‚ Hey, Tink? What?! Have a Snickers. Why?! Cuz you get a lil “tse tse” when you’re hungry.

      • September 14, 2015 at 6:19 pm

        I meant closet eater. Darn auto correct. Tink huh? I guess I can fly without being a bird after all.

        How do you know all this sign stuff? I was born right on the border of Aries and Taurus so what does that mean? Can you read palms ? πŸ™‚

      • September 14, 2015 at 6:25 pm

        Yea, that’s what you get for blogging by Phone Computer.

        So, as a closet eater…he is hiding a diet/weight problem? Or, he’s an emotional eater instead of talking things out with you?

        I’ve been casually observing/studying astrology since 2001. I’m no professional, but I’ve absorbed little details that give me these impressions/hunches. Half of the time, I guess wrong. It’s trial and error, yet.

        Ah, the perfect blend of fire and earth, like cinnamon in hot apple cider. I’d say you are a sandstorm, fire, wind and earth.

        I have a book on hand and face reading, but I haven’t memorized much. I know the marriage lines.


Leave a comment


Archives