07
Apr
15

Chubby Women Can Be Angels, Too

I seem to be relying upon televised gossip to motivate my blog posts, lately.  Today’s motivating piece of media involves a movement by bigger women (those without the standard “super model” figure) to show off their undergarments and claim they are NO ANGELS.  Why angels?  I wonder myself.  Well, it seems Victoria Secret, the infamous lingerie company, has been promoting a line of lingerie under the Angel banner.  And, every woman who feels inferior to those models wearing the Angel line and who has a bone to pick is speaking out visually.  Surely, you can do a search for NO ANGEL and find your fill of these chubby rebels against the super model machine.

While I think it’s noble of these not-so-trim women to defend beauty in other shapes…and while I agree with those who say beauty is in the eye of the beholder…I also think:

1) Victoria Secret should be the ones saying they’re no angels, because they are apparently making these other women turn to the dark side for lacking a model figure.  Victoria Secret is always trying to seduce viewers.  That sounds more like a tempting entity than an angel.  Just because they wear wings doesn’t mean they are true angels.  Not by a long shot.

2) The chubby women who feel excluded from the angel label should consider themselves “chubby cherubs,” instead.  I know plenty of chubby angels.  I don’t want chubby beauties feeling like the only option left for them comes with horns and a pitchfork.

A choice of words can turn you toward the light or the dark side.  So, stand tall and proud in your underwear, all of you who wear plus-sized lingerie and hide your bulges.  You too can be angels and show off your own wings.  The sticks doing tricks are just posers.

12 Responses to “Chubby Women Can Be Angels, Too”


  1. 1 notabowlofcherries
    April 8, 2015 at 4:08 pm

    Well said!

    • April 15, 2015 at 9:00 pm

      Can you be more specific?

      • May 3, 2015 at 11:48 am

        I agree with your suggestion to stand tall and proud in ones underwear. Afterall, beauty comes from within and everybody is beautiful in their own individual way. It’s time to stop comparing and measuring oneself against others. How boring if we all looked the same. We should make the best of what we’ve got (physically, emotionally, mentally, spritually), embrace who we really are and how we look and appreciate others for who they are and how they look.

      • May 4, 2015 at 9:49 pm

        Maybe the goal of looking the same isn’t as literal as it may appear. Maybe, like attraction, it comes from perspective, which may involve how our eyes/minds receive information. Maybe some people are sensitive to what others say in a way that affects them indirectly. By hearing some other person is beautiful, they respond by judging him or her self as something other than beautiful (because they did not receive the compliment). We don’t know (right away) if both subjects in view would be labeled the same or not. All we know is that the viewer identified the one that caught his or her eye as beautiful, perhaps indicating a personal attraction instead of a general description/viewpoint. Perhaps, in beauty pageants, judges are skewed by their own impulses/interests.

        I myself would have a hard time standing around in my underwear…

  2. May 11, 2015 at 12:32 am

    Yeah, I agree that values that truly mean anything are “underrepresented” in our society. Recently I learned of the artist Mary Lambert and appreciate her message and music.

    • May 12, 2015 at 7:27 pm

      How does Mary Lambert relate to this topic? What is that message you received? And, do we need links in comments? The name would suffice.

      • May 12, 2015 at 7:54 pm

        I’m sorry I wasn’t clear. I’ve developed a habit of keeping my comments short because of physical pain I sometimes get when using the computer. But I see that in this case it would have been better to elaborate.

        Mary Lambert is a pop star. Some of her songs are about body image, loving one’s body, self-acceptance, and recognizing that many people have flaws. She appears to be an advocate to help prevent social ills such as self-harm (cutting), purging, self-loathing. One of the things that struck me the first time I turned on a video of a concert she appeared in was that she is overweight. I continued to listen to her music and became captivated by her lyrics, poetry, and music.

        As to your question about needing links in comments, I would say no, not always. I sometimes Include one of my links or another person’s if I think it’s relevant.

      • May 12, 2015 at 8:08 pm

        Physical pain as in joint pain in the wrists/forearms? Or, some other kind of pain brought upon by too much time at the PC?…possibly internal stress related or psychologically induced?

        I know who Mary Lambert is (which is why I said the name would suffice…anyone can look her up). I was just curious what the connection between her and this was. While I know her by name–and think I can picture her voice–I don’t recall the context of her music.

        Many great singers seem to be overweight–at least, the women who sing. Jennifer Hudson sounded fabulous when she was bigger. I don’t know if she sounds as good slimmer. But, I suspect she was receiving some comments from people that compelled her to lose weight.

        I think we do need more people boosting the comfort and esteem of those mocked and suffering for their “imperfections” versus all the sex, drugs and violence in so much music.

        I hope I don’t cause you more physical pain with my words or if you should write a long(er) comment.

  3. May 18, 2015 at 2:28 am

    Hello again.

    Years ago I used the computer too much, I think it eventually caught up with me. I’ve been able to make some lifestyle changes and found new hobbies to address the issue. I’ve been able to dramatically reduce the symptoms by mindfulness meditation and stretching exercises, and expect that it’ll be gone completely within the next few months.

    Many great singers seem to be overweight

    That’s a good point. I haven’t kept up very well with modern music. I’m stuck in the past a bit, but I do like to keep my ears open for new music that really grabs me.

    I think we do need more people boosting the comfort and esteem of those mocked and suffering for their “imperfections” versus all the sex, drugs and violence in so much music.

    Agreed. Although I don’t necessarily support the idea that everyone should reveal all their “Secrets”, but I would like to see more focus in society, especially children, on self-acceptance, self-respect, self-love, etc.

    I hope I don’t cause you more physical pain with my words or if you should write a long(er) comment.

    Thanks for understanding. I’ll adapt. 🙂

    • May 18, 2015 at 7:33 pm

      I know all about computer addiction… It feels like alcohol to me. Chat rooms used to be my bars.

      I could benefit from yoga and tai chi myself…but I am a poor self-motivator sometimes. So, I usually settle for a good brisk walk with a radio headset.

      No, I don’t think we have to strip ourselves naked and expose everything to the world. That’s what I worry about with what so many post online. They think this is journal space; but where’s the privacy? Where’s the trust. I see so many desperate for therapy/counsel/companionship. And, the internet is helping? No, the internet is for research and making contacts.


Leave a Reply

Archives