09
Feb
15

American Holiday Mash-Up 2015 Ahead; Getting You Ready

In case you haven’t noticed, there’s a warm front of holidays blowing through (the U.S.A.) within a week’s time ahead. So, I’d like to take this time to send out the following wishes for happy celebration.

To those of you who still value love and romance, happy Valentine’s Day (Feb. 14th).

To those of you who have a passion for patriotism and U.S. history, happy Presidents’ Day (Feb. 16th).

To those of you who are Catholic, happy Fat Tuesday (Feb. 17th) and Ash Wednesday (Feb. 18th). [For those who are less/not religious, happy Mardi Gras (Feb. 17th).]

To those of you who share a fascination with the Far East with me or who follow the Chinese lunar calendar, happy Chinese New Year (Feb. 19th), the year of the wood sheep.

And, to those of you who are romantic, patriotic, Catholic, Chinese enthusiasts, happy Valentine’s, Presidents’, Fat Tues’, Ash Wednes’, Chinese New Year’s Day. [Phew!]

holidaymashup2015-vals-pres-fatTues-ashWed-chineseNY_photogreetingcard-ap-22SJ holidaymashup2015-vals-pres-fatTues-ashWed-chineseNY_photogreetingcard-ap-33SJ
[If you need some help identifying the images in the enclosed artwork: 1) The big red thing in back is a heart for Valentine’s Day. 2) That’s Abraham Lincoln with the tall hat and George Washington behind him, the 16th and 1st U.S. presidents. 3) The powdery oblong object (doughnut) leaking raspberry jelly is a traditional (Polish/Catholic) treat. 4) That’s a thumb distributing ashes on people’s foreheads. 5) I would hope the last object on the right is obviously a sheep.]

12 Responses to “American Holiday Mash-Up 2015 Ahead; Getting You Ready”


  1. February 9, 2015 at 10:46 pm

    Happy You Day! lol Or should that be Happy Ewe Day judging by the picture 🙂

    • February 9, 2015 at 10:47 pm

      P.s Question for you. Why no like button?

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:07 pm

        P.P.S. Because I hate piracy. And, why should that other website have a button everywhere which people will use as any number of excuses for not communicating with other words? If you like something, say why. Don’t just click a button which links the material to that site and gives it more “clicks”…however that makes money. I call that piracy. And, I don’t like it. I DISLIKE that button.

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:17 pm

        Nooo not that kind of like button lol I mean a like button on your post, you know the WordPress type so people can hit like if they like a post. Somedays I have nothing to sayor add via comment, so I just like, but I can’t do this on your posts.

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:19 pm

        So, how DID you LIKE the post? I didn’t know WordPress had its own button. I presumed that one I disabled was attached to that other site. I have been wrong all this time? If so, there isn’t a shade of red that can define my face.

        I still say, if you like it, tell me about it/why. Not having anything better to say is a weak excuse. A button just makes people less social/lazier.

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:28 pm

        I was able to like it through the reader. WordPress will not link to the other site unless you put in the other sites details. So enable your like button you twerp, you’ve been missing out on all the people who want to hit like.
        I agree with what you are saying re the comments, but there may be many reasons why I would not comment. I’m on the train and typing on the tablet is a nightmare. I’m on the train and I am getting off my stop soon. I’m in a bad mood and despite who much I like the post I willhave to rant about sometime. I read it at lunchtime and my boss just walked in. I have nothing more to add to an already great post. I have nothing to add to already great comments. I don’t want to make an eejit out of myself by saying the wrong thing….you see where I am coming from here lol

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:42 pm

        So, I’ve been missing out on a few people who go around clicking buttons….just one button compared to the millions of key strokes used on “smart phones” to message people endlessly every day. Big whoop.

        I’d be more upset if I didn’t hear a famous celebrity say she/he visited my page. Or, if I lost touch with someone I considered a friend. A button press isn’t going to improve my life. I could click some other buttons if you LIKE.

        Well, I’d like to know those reasons.

        Then, you don’t reply on the train. You wait til whatever stability you require is provided/available. I can’t imagine doing anything on a PC on a train unless it’s a ride smooth as silk. But, I suppose, I’d either adapt or stop trying if it bothered me. It’s not worth the motion sickness and typos. Heck, and if you’re getting off soon, that’s the WORST time to be reading/commenting. You should be focused on not missing the stop or getting your stuff ready to leave the vehicle. I myself have missed a few bus stops by doodling when I shouldn’t have been.

        If you’re not in a good mood, again, you wait and read/look again, later. You may think differently when your mood changes. I have made some lousy/mean comments in foul moods myself. I am not proud of those moments. But, they’re human. Hopefully, you can right the wrong if it ever arises. Or, as I said, wait and read/look again, later.

        And, one more person doing THIS at work. UGH. My work experience tells me that would never work for me. And, if everyone was doing it, would that make me feel better? No, I’d say my workplace wasn’t very productive and wasting resources.

        Like, right now is not a good time for me to be lingering here. I have people to attend.

        There is always something to add to a great post. No post is perfect, is it?:P hehe

        Oh, puh-lease. Although, I know the feeling. No comments from other people should deprive you of giving your two cents. Isn’t that giving in to peer pressure or peer envy?

        Well, you were far from an eejit when you showed my emotional rant last week sympathy.

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:51 pm

        Lol, you assume I have free time a plenty, each case for each person is different. Sometimes that time on the train and those moments at lunchtime, which might I add are few and far between, because usually I do not get one despite not being paid for it, are all I have. I leave home, go to work, travel home then start the cooking and the cleaning and the caring for the Ship with dementia, trust me, sometimes I have nothing left to give in writing, but I can still like something. Each to his own, what for me is not for you, now go attend to your people 🙂

      • February 9, 2015 at 11:54 pm

        Okay, well, I will reply once I catch my breath from imagining living that life you just described. I need a paper bag.

        I get it. But, that still doesn’t excuse the button thing. If we don’t have the time, we don’t have the time. Simple as that. The thoughts will be nice. But, words won’t be heard/read til they have the time. I will know you are reading/looking in spirit, I guess…when you don’t have the time. 😀

        Yes, off I go…zip, zip, zoo-ieee!

    • February 9, 2015 at 11:05 pm

      Clever. Happy Ewe Day (for Chinese New Year 2015/4713).

  2. February 12, 2015 at 3:39 am

    This is cool. Mardi Gras for me. Happy all of the above to you, too!

    • February 16, 2015 at 10:25 pm

      Gracias. I like some aspects of Mardi Gras, but the whole “spring break” flashing boobs for beads bit and getting drunk seems unnecessary to me. I’ll just wear my mask and sneak away from the noisy mobs.


Leave a Reply

Archives