19
Nov
14

What Is Your Turkey Substitute for Thanksgiving?

I am bringing this question to the table for vegetarians and those who might go without a turkey this year alike.

bikinilinetanturkey_1

If you do not cook/serve a turkey this year, what is your substitute for the centerpiece of the feast?

You can answer here or in my Chat Cafe space where I have also placed the question for discussion and you may find some minor art pieces.

4 Responses to “What Is Your Turkey Substitute for Thanksgiving?”


  1. 1 rhiannon228
    November 19, 2014 at 11:56 am

    We’re not cooking a turkey this year, my mother refuses for the first time. I have no idea what we’re going to do though. My vote is for beef stew πŸ˜€ Love the scantily clad bird

    • November 24, 2014 at 9:30 pm

      Beef stew sounds good. [Though, I’ve had some beef stews that were so heavy and strangely dry even though they’re soups.] Can I come over? Where should I mail myself? πŸ™‚

      Why did she not want to do turkey this year?

      I am surprised anyone in my family makes a turkey. My branch was/is such a small unit, and now we’re a bit divided. One twig periodically invites in-laws in abundance. But, the original family (tree)? It’s not the same old “wish we looked like that Rockwell painting” feeling, anymore. I couldn’t care less about turkey other than it being a traditional holiday food. I’m not a huge tradition person, but some keep you grounded to the history and holiday feel. Yet, I’d be just as content to have pizza or sushi if the warmth of the group in attendance was there. The point of the “holiday mood” is the gratitude and gathering of friendly souls. No presents or diet guilt required.

      But, Thanksgiving without a pumpkin pie and a heap of seasoned bread cube and celery stuffing depresses me.

      Thanks. πŸ™‚ I break it out every once in a while. I found that picture years ago when I first started “blogging.”

      • 3 rhiannon228
        November 27, 2014 at 2:01 pm

        I agree, the tradition is just to get people together in gratitude.
        My parents have always been a little unusual :). They just want to have us all together and we’ve always done turkey. They just want to change it up I think.
        Pumpkin pie is the BEST, we won’t skip that πŸ™‚
        Have a wonderful turkey day today!

      • December 1, 2014 at 11:31 pm

        The “funny” thing is–from my gathered information of the first Thanksgiving–the Pilgrims gathered with the natives and shared knowledge before forces arrived to slaughter the natives and take the land. That’s not exactly a happy holiday to make tradition. But, as with other “Grimm” tales, I like to tweak them to suit my interests…which sort of goes against my own code if someone did that with my creation (goes against my Golden Rule).

        When I hear unusual parents, I get a freaky 1960s image or some cartoon where the main character kept picturing his parents imagining dancing cows from the early Disney days. I just can’t think of what show that was.

        Why is wanting turkey regularly “always…unusual?”

        Sadly, the pumpkin pie I had this year was sub-par, lacking sweetness, an example of my circumstances, I suppose. Maybe if things were sweeter, the pie would have been, too. I tend to think a harvest holiday is affected by what we put into the “farming”/”garden” (effort and product).

        Belated thanks, and I’m sure yours was nice:)


Leave a Reply

Archives