03
Nov
14

Video Game Memories in the Chat Cafe Space

Halloween may be gone, but I am not done with Autumn, yet.  No, I am not in any mood to welcome winter.  But, I am at a loss for what decorations to post until I finally get into the Christmas spirit (which usually takes until mid-December for personal reasons).  So, for now, I am leaving a few colorful leaf trails.

AND, as a sort of gift to myself…if you readers like, you can share it, as well–a fond memorial of video games past.  Every now and then, I like to tap into that youthful side that used to like sitting on the bed or floor with a bowl of cereal and a joystick or controller.  It feels wrong doing it at my age.  But, video games are a drug habit I have yet to fully kick.  I am not crazy about the latest versions and all the war business.  I dislike all the new complexities when video games used to be so simple and enjoyed by two people in the same room with no more than an hour–if that–required.  Yet, despite my stubbornness toward change, I have taken a shine to a few over the years and do make small adjustments to my thinking.  But, I still would pass up all the new to spend an hour with someone playing pinball tanks from the Combat cartridge for my old Atari 2600.  Or, Joust.  Or, the arcade version of Warlords (cuz the Atari 2600 version was just plain awful).

So, be sure to check out the new wallpapers.  I know, they’re not as much fun with the Chat Cafe print tacked on.  But, they is what they is, ye kno’?

Shall we play a game?

writingboltschatcafe_riddlerschessboard-batmanandrobin-stg7-crop-4J

11 Responses to “Video Game Memories in the Chat Cafe Space”


  1. November 8, 2014 at 3:03 pm

    It used to Q-Bert and Galaxian as obsessions for me. I got Defender for my Commodore 128 computer, but my friends all beat me at it.

    • November 10, 2014 at 9:27 pm

      Galaxian?? What is so great about that game? It looks like so many other space battle games without the unique character.

      I’ll take Zaxxon (as restricted and nutty as that was), Vanguard, Phoenix or Sinistar over Galaxian. I remember my very first arcade experience was Space War at a local discount store. Then, there was the color game Joust at a restaurant in their entryway.

      It was just a barrage of games after that, most I couldn’t play until I acquired my first Atari system at home…which blew up in a week of playing Tutankem which I SWORE said Tutenkhamen. My friend at the time kept calling it the right name, but I told him that’s not the pharaoh’s name.

      I blew a TV playing Atlantis. That was an experience.

      I was dying to get Defender after seeing it at the arcade and at a classmate’s house. But, once I had a version at home, it grew old fast. I used to toy with the aliens taking the little people. I would make up stories for why they were being taken and why they had to drop from the sky or what happened when they hit the ground. Of course, I was sleepy silly at the time.

      The closest I came to beating any old game might have been Tutankem or Jungle Hunt. But, I only made it to the final levels. I had more fun playing with someone. But, that became more and more rare til I found myself playing games alone. And, that still makes me sad.

      • November 11, 2014 at 12:41 am

        Wow, those are some detailed memories of some really old games. I have to admit to being so old that I got hooked on Galaxian when it was new and there were few other choices in bars and stores and restaurants, before the first video arcade even opened. I reached the 14th level in Galaxian in the Kansas City bus terminal, and darn near missed my bus to Texas (1981, I think).

      • November 11, 2014 at 9:23 pm

        I came across a not-so-old NES game you might enjoy if you haven’t tried it already. It’s like Galaxian but more complex with greater music and variety. I particularly like the opening, water and ice world stages though they get increasingly impossible without serious power-ups. It’s called The Guardian Legend. If you don’t know of it/have it, there’s an easy way to try it for free.

        Yes, I can recall some rather intense memories with the mention of each game I used to play and protected (my own copies) as best I could. While other kids sold theirs for nothing in horrible condition when they moved onto the next thing, I had everything in mint condition as I took care of mine. Still, I had to sell mine for nothing which was really sad.

        Well, I think that’s why I liked Joust so much because it was the first color game I witnessed and liked. I didn’t feel as strongly about Space War because it was monochrome. Just about anything monochrome to a creative spirit is uninspiring…until we do pencil sketches. I likewise was drawn to Tron, Q-Bert, Frogger, Pac-Man/Puck-Man and Zaxxon. But, I don’t recall getting a chance to play them til another kid in school who was far wealthier and had everything at his house allowed me to play.

        A bus terminal? Wow. That would have been nice all the times I have waited for a bus:P

      • November 11, 2014 at 9:47 pm

        I had a three hour lay-over transferring from Greyhound to Trailways. I also left the bus terminal with no more cash or quarters. But I am grateful that all the other bus passengers waiting there were octogenarians and didn’t care that monopolized that game machine. I definitely agree about color games. I never liked Asteroids because of the total lack of color. Some of those first video and arcade games were very clunky vector graphics and gave you eye strain rather than enjoyment. I liked Popeye and Donkey Kong in addition to the ones you mentioned.

      • November 11, 2014 at 9:55 pm

        The original Asteroids may have been that dull, but the Atari 2600 version was a huge improvement. But, even that got dull fast. It was like getting a kiddie cereal for the treats inside only to find there are just a handful of marshmallows or “berries” among the more wholesome pieces.

        The first games were marvels because of their divergence from text to motion graphics.

        I didn’t suffer eye strain as a kid even if I spent 7 hours at a time playing them. Only when I reached my 20s and started using a PC extensively did my eyes suffer greatly…and it still bothers me.

        Oh yea; Popeye, Donkey Kong (Jr. was good, too) and Kangaroo….then the bold departures from “vector” like Space Ace and Dragon’s Lair (which I never got far in and hated seeing myself turn into a skeleton or getting crushed by some machine).

        But, have you tried The Guardian Legend?

      • November 11, 2014 at 10:07 pm

        I never tried Guardian Legend. I remember being fascinated by Dragon’s Lair and Space Ace. They were both by animator Don Bluth, whose work I greatly admired. He was break-away Disney. I never played more than one game of each, though. I died so fast it was a total waste of quarters. I would wait for somebody who was good at the game to come along and play it, and then I would watch like they were movies.

      • November 11, 2014 at 10:28 pm

        Yes, and once I learned of Don Bluth, I became a bigger fan of him than the Disney Empire and was slightly discouraged when his Phoenix studio went belly-up. I have a few versions of Dragon’s Lair but gave up on Space Ace because the SNES version gave me motion sickness. But, I love the characters and animation. I wasn’t as big a fan of The Land Before Time, though.

        Well, as for The Guardian Legend, you should go to CoolRom.com and download both the JNES emulator and The Guardian Legend ROM files and give it a try. If you need any further help, let me know.

        Oh, I played Dragon’s Lair a few times before I was traumatized by the skeleton death scenes. I was infatuated with the princess. I had to have her:D I remember the game started in different rooms depending on who had the game. One place started the game on a disappearing catwalk with flaming ropes while Chuck E. Cheese/Showtime Pizza Place started it somewhere I forget…it was right after Dirk jumps through the self-sealing brick wall at the castle entrance. I think it was the hallway with the potion in the last room.

        With the PC version, I was able to look up a cheat key which requires memorizing the button patterns for each room (both the “left” and “right” versions). And, thankfully, after ermermbwber years, I was able to rescue the princess.

        I think you could probably find the whole “movie” online, too, without needing to play. I remember walking by computer stores weekly and seeing the scene with the black knight and the electrified floor. It kept calling to me.

      • November 11, 2014 at 10:29 pm

        Question: Why do you LIKE every comment I make? All that does is post what I say on your Fbook thingy for anyone who looks at yours to see.

      • November 11, 2014 at 11:29 pm

        That doesn’t explain the habit, though.


Leave a Reply

Archives