28
Oct
14

Jack-o-lanterns; What Do We Scare Off and What Do We Invite or Attract?

The original purpose of jack-o-lanterns was–like costumes–to keep bad spirits away on Halloween (or the Samhain/Celtic holiday).  But, over the years, people have carved all sorts of images in pumpkins (among other things) for Halloween lanterns.

So, the other day, I asked myself…

1) What do we scare off with a silly, happy or sad jack-o-lantern? 

2) What do we scare off with a sexy or silly costume?  And,

3) If not scaring off, what do we attract or invite?”

Think about it.

What message are you sending to the spirits around you?  If you had control over this–and, I think, we do–what would you try to convey with your costume/lantern?

Ask yourself…

1) What do you need to keep away from you/your home?  Greed?  Gluttony?  Terror?  Crime?  Lust? 

2) What do you want to visit/more of in your life?  Love?  Happiness?  Candy?  Money?

3) How do we convey these messages with costumes and/or jack-o-lanterns?

AND, 4) Who is this Jack guy who got his name attached to so many pumpkins, anyway?:)

Happy Halloween…or…Happy Costume (and Lantern) Day

writingboltschatcafe_batty-sorceress_halloween-rocky-canyon_apsample1200-5HCD

2 Responses to “Jack-o-lanterns; What Do We Scare Off and What Do We Invite or Attract?”


  1. 1 rhiannon228
    November 19, 2014 at 11:58 am

    Aaaaaah – I see you think about the energy that’s being spread around too. What we give (put out) we will experience

    • November 24, 2014 at 9:37 pm

      Yes, in a way. 🙂 And, I am elated you stopped by this post (for that reason).

      It came to me this year. I occasionally hear people discussing the origin of the holiday. And, I thought about how that has changed over the years as people seem to care less (about EVERYTHING except maybe themselves)…not including the diehard charity types. I think most would just carve a pumpkin the simplest of ways and not give it a second thought. Others get really creative, and you hope that masterpiece doesn’t go to waste too soon. But, how many experience bad luck later that they might have “misguided” with a “bad beacon”? I’ve seen the results of one beacon I put out. And, in a way, that result made me happy. Anyway, it’s just one more thought from this lonely, highly active mind.

      I have thought about what I carve in my pumpkins the past few years. I have a hard time being “ordinary” with the common faces missing teeth or looking like the pumpkin is shouting “boo.” I tend to make happy or uniquely serious faces. Last year, I made a two-sided pumpkin with a lovely scientist on one side and her potion-induced monster side on the other.


Leave a Reply

Archives