06
May
14

Put It on EBay!

“Put it on eBay!” he says. “You’re not enjoying it. Get rid of it!”

That’s my father’s (and, generally, my family’s) final and echoing word on anything sitting somewhere and not being put to use…when it’s not their own stuff sitting somewhere and not being put to use. It only adds weight to the weight I already carry for having indulged a whim and brought something “home” though I don’t get to use it as often as I could (if ever). [And, if I never use it, it’s because I wanted to share it with someone special and don’t presently have that someone. And, that just drives me crazy, too. Why keep buying stuff that I WISH to use with someone (else)?] As negative as I get labelled for “pissing” on this and complaining about that, I can’t find it in me to point out every little item or question someone’s collection to the point that I tell them to get rid of it promptly. But, my family does this (particularly) with me.

[For any of you warped by current TV trends thinking this is a potential “hoarding” situation, don’t even go there because it’s far from it. And, if I ever became even close to being unable to getting around/through a room, I’d go mad like Donald Duck and pitch the lot to the curb. I refuse to box myself in anywhere.]

I could easily fight them off with a stick and scream, “Mine! I keep it!” But, as I think this over one more time–in my attempt to be fair–I begin to question the value of so many things. What am I NOT enjoying? Oh, there’s a long list.

So, if I am not enjoying my parents/family…can I put them up for sale/auction? How about my life in general? Do I set a high or low minimum bid? Who would ever (click) Buy It Now?

[I say this and then realize or decide there must be someone worse off who’s saying they’d trade right away. So, don’t speak too quickly. But, this is just another passing thought that sort of made me laugh. And, I hope it gives you who choose to read this a chuckle, too.]

0 Responses to “Put It on EBay!”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives


