26
Sep
13

Aware of Wandering Leeches; Concern Over Recent Followers

The internet is a mixed bag of blessings and booby traps. Make the wrong click-turn, and you wind up going down a dark exit ramp into cyber crime misery. I trust people online about as far as I can throw them until they speak with me personally so I may evaluate their authenticity.

Everywhere I go to interact with people online, I eventually run into my share of pests and questionable entities. In chat rooms, they were known as “bombers” and “bots”. Trolls and bullies are popular words these days. But, as I try to restrict the influence of a certain social media website on my personal blog here, I find myself followed by strangers from foreign lands who do not express why they are interested. I also am being swarmed members secretly belonging to some organization I can only presume is yet another online trap.

Who are you, AWOL? Why do you even call yourselves that? Why not be Trolling For Fun, Inc. while you’re at it? Why couldn’t you be Blogging for You if you were serious? And, if you are genuinely out to help people, you’re not going to just throw them a few bucks (which might not even exist) for posting ads. Promising something better than a career earned with a college degree by adding a page/link to my blog? Goodness. Who needs writing skills or valuable content when I can just slap a bumper sticker on my random rants, sit back and watch the meter digits spiral? Why don’t I just move to California and try out for every reality show out there? You sound like those loan companies who don’t care how bad your credit is before having people sign away their souls for some quick cash, cultivating a world of liars, frauds and scams.

If everyone joined your special group, what then? We’re all under some mystery thumb, accepting the bread crumbs tossed to us while kicking back and doing nothing or talking/writing to themselves? Who’s doing the reading if everyone is kicking back doing nothing but letting magic happen on their blog? Wouldn’t we all be getting just a bit too lazy after a while? Aren’t you just the internet equivalent of taking steroids or energy drinks? [And, anyone who watches the news feeds knows how that goes for sports stars.]

You can veil your true nature under pretty faces of all ages “living the dream”, but you’re not fooling me. I sign up with you, and suddenly I am MIA. I have no reason to trust any of your Agents of Wrecking Lives. I cannot block or remove you. And, if you continue to accumulate, I will have to put my foot down another way.

Is anyone else seeing these flies on their FOLLOW and LIKE list? Has anyone confirmed the authenticity of this group?

If I have crossed any lines or offended any business in any way, I won’t sweat it. I don’t need to dig my hook into some quota of total strangers to keep a chain letter going. I’ll find a more reasonable way to benefit from my effort with people who communicate from the heart (not their wallets/purses).

0 Responses to “Aware of Wandering Leeches; Concern Over Recent Followers”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives