25
Sep
13

Do It Right or Not At All

This comic strip (sent to me by an acquaintance) sums up my childhood, growing up with perfectionist parents who couldn’t teach us kids how to be responsible without making us feel completely hopeless. If we couldn’t do it THEIR way, we couldn’t do anything. If we tried to copy them, we were never right. If the task was deemed too dangerous, we were made to fear it. Eventually, none of us did any chores or earned any allowance. We were just poor fools.

Image

26 Responses to “Do It Right or Not At All”


  1. October 3, 2013 at 4:30 pm

    I can relate to this. My parents were also perfectionists. My mom never let me cook or do anything around the house cause she said I didn’t do it the way she did. My parents handled finances and never taught me how to do banking or anything. I obviously learned it all by myself, but it’s interesting how parents are so forgetful of how resilient and competent we are when we’re young.

    • October 4, 2013 at 1:09 am

      And, how did you learn it yourself? Wasn’t that scary? Weren’t there problems?…difficulties with authorities or bill collectors?…kitchen mishaps that could have been disastrous?…budget scares in which you worry you won’t “make it”?…filing messes?

      Maybe your astrology is “strong” in your favor.

      I didn’t feel too resilient or competent growing up with my family. I feel lucky to last as long as I have. But, I am still sorting out the why’s and what for’s.

      • October 4, 2013 at 3:42 am

        It was kind of learn as you go kind of thing for me. I asked some people for some help or just talked directly to a representative. Even though it seemed like my parents didn’t let me do anything, I was a very independent child. I took it upon myself to learn everything anyways and it didn’t really bother me as much. Gave me a sense of pride and freedom in a way. I did have issues, I won’t lie, but it was an insightful process. I do occasionally worry about being completely broke or messing up somewhere, but it’s not something I dwell on all the time.

        Astrology huh. Well my chinese zodiac and western zodiac seem pretty spot on about me.

      • October 4, 2013 at 3:45 am

        You certainly had guts and no fears.

        What are your primary Chinese and Western signs? I would guess dragon, tiger, dog or ox for the former.

      • October 4, 2013 at 3:51 am

        Haha nope! None of the above. I’m a horse.

      • October 4, 2013 at 3:55 am

        Rats, I forgot that one. The dramatic and flighty yet steady work horse. You and my sis would either clash hooves or match each other perfectly, I bet. The horse bucks and throws fits about having it their way, but when the work gets piled up in front of them, they just plow through like a mailman in a storm. Sort of like the Ox, but the Ox rarely vents the same dramatic frustrations.

        Okay, and what of your Western sun sign?

      • October 4, 2013 at 3:57 am

        Hmm that sounds about right. I can be dramatic when it comes to things I’m passionate about. And I do have good time management and get shit done haha.

        I’m a Taurus. So it all fits together pretty well. You?

      • October 4, 2013 at 4:03 am

        Well, there ya go. Perfect combo. You’re not only ready-steady, but you can take on the workload of others and still not break a sweat. You’re Hercu-horse.

        Me? Take a look at my About Me page and see if you can figure it out. 🙂

      • October 4, 2013 at 4:57 am

        Hercu-horse? Lol I like the sound of that.

        Hmm that’s hard. Sagittarius? And a

  2. October 4, 2013 at 4:58 am

    And…I accidentally pressed the button before I was done.

    I was gonna say, I have no idea in terms of Chinese horoscope. Maybe a snake or dragon?

    • October 4, 2013 at 5:02 am

      I am amazed you got the Sagittarius part…I probably listed it on the page, didn’t I? You didn’t have to look for that. What? You don’t know your Chinese symbols, do you?:P That green thing in the corner tells the Chinese part…and there are Sagittarian clues elsewhere around the room.

      Snake? No, I am not quite that quiet or materialistic. I am not so methodical/calculating…though I am a deep thinker. I’m a bit more impulsive than most snakes. I suppose I could be a bit vain, though. I am told the female Snake would be a HOT match for me, though.

      Dragon? I was very close to being one. I think I wanted to be one, but I was pulled from the womb too soon.

      • October 4, 2013 at 5:05 am

        I actually didn’t look at your blog completely to guess. I just knew a Sagittarius and for some reason, it made me think you were one too. I think it was also cause you said you love travel or something.

        So that makes you a bunny then? Lol

      • October 4, 2013 at 5:09 am

        You don’t have to look at every post…I told you where to look. Did you NOT look at the About Me page for some STUBBORN Taurus reason?:P

        Well, now that is profound…you saw the similar trait in me. I’d say you still got lucky guessing:P I guess one out of five myself.

        I mentioned travel? Yea, that would seem to be a key word…but Sagittarians aren’t the only ones who like to travel. We just are bigger dreamers of travel adventures. We don’t just plan a vacation, we plan an amazing story! And, everyone else expects this of us, too. They want us to come back with a tale to tell. So, we better not disappoint.

        Gee, ya think?:P I think I laid it out for ya.

      • October 4, 2013 at 5:15 am

        Lol of course. I’m stubborn cause I’m not only a Taurus but a horse as well. Double the stubbornness.

        Yeah, you’re right. It was pretty much a lucky guess. The saggitarian I knew was a huge fan of traveling and was pretty adventurous. I guess if that’s what they are expecting of you guys, then they’re expecting a Taurus to be the “life of the party” or dramatic.

      • October 4, 2013 at 5:23 am

        My horse sis doesn’t often see what’s in front of her or look where she’s told, either. It’s a stupid family trait, though. A whole family of blind fools wanting to be Frank Sinatra.

        I am not as adventurous as most Sagittarians. But, I am certainly more adventurous than the rest of my family…which is somewhat sad when you consider the rest of my life. I have all the spunk and plenty of fears to go with it. And, not one of my family members shares the same zeal/s I do. We all find fault or reason not to agree.

        Taurus is the opposite of dramatic which is what keeps you calmer than most horses. Taurus only gets dramatic when their stubborn, one-track ways hits a snag or their gambling leaves them broke. But, they’re crafty enough to work it out, anyway. If they risk going broke, they just do the math to making quick cash and fix it. So, the drama is very brief. Scorpio is the opposite and can drown itself in drama if it wants. I haven’t met a Taurus who’s the life of the party. Taurus is usually the cook or host/ess. They have exceptional caring and cooking skills. Just poor communication skills.

      • October 4, 2013 at 6:20 am

        Interesting. Poor communication skills? I’d say I have pretty good communication skills. I’m rather straight forward lol. I’m a descent cool and I do care about people. Not much of a gambler though. But like with all zodiac/ horoscope stuff. It’s not gonna be 100% accurate.

      • October 4, 2013 at 6:35 am

        Well, you may have some other components that help with speaking. I know my sis has no trouble talking constantly:P She was worse as a kid. But, nowadays, all she does is talk work/business which makes no sense to me. Occasionally, she will reference some childhood interest we shared because no one else she knows cares to discuss such things.

        It’s just typical of Taureans to be “bottled up”, thus they struggle with expressing their true feelings or asking for help…though, as you’ve said, you haven’t had trouble with that, either.

        I am more diverse or all over the place than straight forward:P My sis–and others–have to yell at me, “Get to the point!” I am good with words, but I don’t always explain directly:P

        A descent cool? Oh, cook.

        Well, it gets more accurate when you do the math with all of the other components. It makes up a puzzle.

      • October 4, 2013 at 4:09 pm

        Yeah, I was the same way. My chatterbox nature got me into a lot of trouble as a kid. I still think it does sometimes. It just depends on my setting and who I’m with.

        I’m not bottled up at all haha so that’s interesting. Did I not spell cook right? Well, I was tired. It was late.

      • October 5, 2013 at 1:12 am

        I first became a chatterbox in my teens when I had to find my voice to defend/explain myself. Before then, I was the quiet one who always behaved.

        Also, the gambling aspect…sometimes it’s not about betting on games but gambling with expenses, making big purchases others question when you feel certain it’s a wise investment.

      • October 5, 2013 at 2:34 am

        Quiet and behaved? Def not me

        Nah. I’m very practical when it comes to money. I only splurge on traveling and food

      • October 5, 2013 at 2:42 am

        But, you splurge. And, others might see that as extravagant. Especially if it’s expensive food.

      • October 6, 2013 at 1:58 am

        Hmm yeah I guess. But what we put on our bodies is what keeps us either healthy or sick

      • October 7, 2013 at 4:52 am

        Now, think about what you just said. Some may keep us healthy…like warm clothes on a cold day…and some may make us sick…like sick in the head to spend $400 on something no more helpful than the $6 equivalent made by a different company. Or, maybe there’s a middle-of-the-road “model” that has more bells and whistles than the $6 one but isn’t as ridiculously “exclusive” as the $400 one.

    • October 4, 2013 at 8:03 am

      This may sound strange, but you bear a slight resemblance to Jackie Chan, and, as I see, he too is a Horse year. An Aries Horse.


Leave a Reply

Archives